The current Dressmaker update picture has two parts: small post-release fixes and new fabrics or accessories, followed by a larger update with online challenges, transparent fabrics, controller support, and possible mobile and Switch ports. The public materials also record prototype 0.5.5 fixes and a planned launch date of 21 September 2026.

Dressmaker

Current update status

The official update plan separates near-term maintenance from larger feature work. In the immediate weeks after release, the team said it would focus on fixing bugs found since release, while adding a sprinkling of new fabrics and accessories. That makes the short-term plan easier to read: expect maintenance work first, with small additions alongside it, rather than treating every planned feature as part of one immediate patch.

The larger ideas are described as work that had already begun, but as content for a chunkier update or updates further down the line. The wording matters because it presents a roadmap, not a fixed patch schedule. No public material supplied for this page gives a numbered post-launch version, an exact delivery date for each feature, or a guarantee that every planned item will arrive together.

Update areaWhat the public material saysTiming or status
Bug fixesFix bugs found since releaseImmediate weeks after release
Fabrics and accessoriesAdd a sprinkling of new itemsAlongside smaller updates
Online challenge modeCompare dress designs and vote for favouritesPlanned for a larger update
Transparent fabricsAdd layered transparency with double-sided meshesPlanned; extra presentation work is needed
Controller supportGive the Steam Deck proper controller supportPlanned
Mobile and Switch portsContinue planning ports requested by playersPlanned, with no date supplied

What the larger update may add

Online challenge mode

One planned feature is an online challenge mode. Its stated purpose is to let players compare their dress designs with other dressmakers and vote for their favourites. This gives the feature a social comparison loop built around submitted designs, but the available announcement does not specify how challenges are created, how voting is moderated, or whether rewards are attached to the results.

For now, the useful takeaway is the intended interaction: make a dress, place it alongside other player designs, and take part in preference-based voting. Any details about matchmaking, ranking, challenge frequency, filters, or moderation would require a later official announcement. They should not be treated as confirmed parts of the plan from the current material.

Transparent fabrics

Transparent fabrics were not included in the launch version, and they are listed as planned content. The development note explains that layered transparency with double-sided meshes needs extra work to look right. This is a technical reason for the feature's position on the roadmap, not a promise about a particular release window.

The plan also shows why a fabric addition can involve more than drawing a new swatch. Transparency has to work across layers and surfaces while remaining visually convincing. The announcement does not specify which fabrics will be transparent, how many will be added, or whether the feature will change existing dress patterns.

Controller support

The game was described as running fast on the Steam Deck, while proper controller support was still a goal. The planned work therefore concerns input support rather than a claim that every controller interaction is already complete. The supplied source does not name supported controller models, button layouts, accessibility options, or a release date.

For players using a handheld PC, this distinction is important. Performance on the Steam Deck and complete controller support are separate parts of the experience. The public plan acknowledges the first point and identifies the second as work still to be done.

Mobile and Switch ports

Mobile and Switch ports are also part of the announced plans. The team said these versions had been requested constantly on its social media channels, which explains why they appear in the roadmap. No platform-specific launch date, pricing, storefront, control scheme, or feature comparison is included in the available sources.

That means the safest status is planned, not dated. A request for a port is not the same as a confirmed release window. Check a later official announcement for concrete platform information before relying on any third-party date or feature list.

Launch scope and continuing content

The launch announcements describe a substantial base for future updates. The planned scope includes approximately 35 hours of story commissions, excluding off-rack dresses, with over 150 dress pieces, over 450 fabrics, and over 350 accessories. The same announcement says that more free content and new features are coming soon, so the update roadmap is presented as an expansion of an already broad set of dress-making materials.

The figures above describe the announced full-game scope, not a patch-by-patch delivery table. They should not be mixed with the prototype's smaller hotfix notes. The sources also do not provide a complete inventory of which new items belong to which update, so there is no reliable item-by-item schedule to reproduce here.

Before launch, development notes also mentioned continuing work on new dress patterns, fabrics, and accessories. Another announcement described changes to the front desk so it would feel brighter, more open, and more colourful, plus ongoing UI work intended to make the new-player experience easier to understand. These notes show the kinds of content and presentation work being developed, but they do not establish a regular cadence for future updates.

Prototype patch notes: hotfix 0.5.5

The public prototype history includes a small hotfix numbered 0.5.5. Its notes are useful as an example of the bug-fix work that can appear in an update, but they should not be read as the full-release roadmap. The patch addressed two specific issues in the sketchbook and pattern information.

  • It fixed the incorrect sprite shown for flounce sleeves, which had been displaying the three-quarter sleeve sprite in the sketchbook.
  • It fixed the incorrect grainline and naming for the ruffle skirt.

The same note recorded a known save-related problem after the ruffle skirt fix. Existing ruffle skirts could have their panel ordering broken, while new ruffle skirts were unaffected. The developer explained that preserving old saves with the prototype had been messy and that the team would be more careful about not breaking save games during full development.

The prototype files listed in that announcement were Windows 0.5.5 at 115 MB, Linux 0.5.5 at 127 MB, and OSX 0.5.5 at 128 MB. Those are prototype download entries from the hotfix note, not current full-release download requirements. They should not be used to estimate the size of a later update.

How to read future update information

Use the official Steam announcements and itch.io devlogs as the primary status sources. The public material distinguishes between released fixes, planned features, and broader requests, so a later post may change the timing or explain that a feature is still in development. A third-party patch index also cautions that the roadmap should not be treated as fixed and directs readers back to official posts for the latest status.

When checking a new post, look for three things: whether the feature is described as released or planned, whether the note gives a version or date, and whether it applies to the prototype or the full game. This avoids combining the 0.5.5 prototype file notes with the full-release content scope. It also keeps requests for mobile or Switch versions separate from confirmed platform launches.

Update summary

The confirmed public plan is straightforward: small updates should address bugs and add some fabrics or accessories, while a larger update or series of updates may bring online design challenges, transparent fabrics, proper controller support, and mobile and Switch ports. The roadmap does not provide exact dates for those larger features. The safest way to follow progress is to treat each official Steam announcement or itch.io devlog as the current source of truth.

There are no redemption codes in the supplied update material. The page therefore has no code list to publish.

Sources